When it comes to crash reports and records on car accidents in Texas, the Texas Department of Transportation, or TxDOT, was the keeper of that information for the entire state. If an accident occurs on a Texas road that involves either injury or death, a law enforcement officer must investigate and submit a written report to the TxDOT of what occurred within 10 days of the accident occurring. If property is damaged in an accident of $10,000 or more, a law enforcement officer must submit a written report to TxDOT.
The TxDOT acquires its crash reports from law enforcement agencies around the state. Those reports contain information on accidents that occur on public roads and state highways, which are a part of the same highway system. The state retains crash information for 10 years and the year that the accident occurred. If a person wishes to obtain information that is older than 10 years, they are not able to do so. However, older information may be available in annual reports.
Where does crash information now live?
Because crash information is considered proprietary in nature, it is not available to the general public online. As of 2019, however, if you need that information, you are able to acquire a copy of crash reports through the Crash Report Online Purchase System. If you use the online system, you will receive the requested report(s) by Email after you have purchased it.
If you need a large amount of crash data, you can submit your request online using a Crash Data Request Form. Another option is searching public data by using the CRIS Query Too. While filing the request for the data, there are several things to keep in mind:
- The TxDOT only retains crash information for 10 years plus the year in which the accident occurred.
- The TxDOT will only provide crash information for purchase.
How much does a crash information report cost?
The cost of a crash report is nominal and can be purchased with a credit card. A regular copy costs $6 and a certified copy costs $8. If you need to include the crash information in an official document, you will need a certified copy. If you need a subpoena or an affidavit, subpoenas in federal and state court cost $8 and an affidavit also costs $8.
Valuable legal counsel
If you were involved in a car accident, in which you were injured as a result of a negligent driver, legal advice may really make your case much easier to navigate. Documentation of important events in such a situation is usually needed and understanding where to obtain that information so that your attorney can help you to get the compensation that you need and that you deserve. A car accident will change your life dramatically and your Texas car accident attorney can help you to put the accident and all of its repercussions behind you once and for all.